The earliest records of camogie in Offaly are from the 1930s when there were clubs in Mucklagh, Ballycommon, Ballycumber, Tullamore, Killoughey, Rahan, Lusmagh, Drumcullen and Kinnitty.

Offaly team who took on Wexford in the 1930 Leinster Final

In 1930 Offaly reached the Leinster Final only to be defeated by Wexford by one point.

1935 Mucklagh Camogie Team

Front left to right Lily Flynn, Rita Dunne, Bridie Pender, Kathleen Slator. Back ?? Conroy, Mary Carroll, Jane Heffernan, Marguerite Walshe, Molly Digan, Nellie Daly, Mary Dunne, Bess Dunne.

1942: The Offaly County Camogie Final was won by Mucklagh Camogie Club defeating Daingean Camogie club. The following is the newspaper report and county medal:

After World War II, the game declined in the county and it was largely through the efforts of Clare-born Mary O’Brien that camogie was re-established in Offaly in the 1970’s.

From 1973-79 Tullamore was the only club in the county and as a result was allowed to play in the Laois Championship which it won in the first year of entering.

The Tullamore Camogie team who won the Laois Championship.

By 1979 clubs had been formed in Birr, Drumcullen, Clara and Kilcormac so the Offaly Camogie County Board was reformed and in 1980 senior, junior and minor championships were played.

Although the county has enjoyed little success in provincial championships the emergence of clubs in Coolderry, Shinrone, Lusmagh, Kinnitty, Killeigh, Banagher and Ballycommon has ensured that the game remains on a sure footing in Offaly.

Over the years clubs formed and folded in Ferbane, Edenderry, Mucklagh, Ballyskenagh, Ballycomber, Clara and Clareen. By the 2000s there were 10 clubs: Lusmagh, St. Rynaghs, Drumcullen, Birr, Kinnitty, Shinrone, Tullamore, St. Sinchill’s, Kilcormac Killoughey and Naomh Brid (an amalgamation of Ballyskenagh and Coolderry).
1998 Offaly won their first Leinster Minor title.
1999 Offaly won their first Leinster Junior title, 69 years after appearing in their first final.

2001, Shinrone won the Leinster Junior Club title.
2001 Offaly won Leinster Junior title
2003, Drumcullen won the Leinster Junior Club title, after which the county winners were regraded to Intermidiate level.
2005 Offaly won the U16B All-Ireland
2006, a new club was set up at Carrig Riverstown GAA club, called St. Cillian’s, serving the areas of Carrig Riverstown and Ballingarry.
2008 Offaly won the Leinster Junior title
2008 Offaly won the All-Ireland U18B title
2008 Offaly were runners up in the Junior All Ireland
2009 Offaly created history by winning the county’s first All Ireland Junior Championship, which earned them a spot in the Intermediate Champioinship captained by Shinrone’s Marion Crean. 

2010 Offaly won the All Ireland Intermediate Championship which meant their upgrade to the Senior Championship. They were captained by Shinrone’s Michaela Morkan and beat Wexford on a scoreline of 2.12 to 2.10.
2011 St. Cillians became the 1st Offaly club to win the feile All-Ireland.
2011 Offaly were runners up to Limerick in the U16B All Ireland final
2012 Offaly made it into the All Ireland Senior semi-final
2012 Offaly won the u16B All-Ireland
2013 Offaly won the U18B All-Ireland
2014 St. Brendan’s CS Birr, won the All Ireland Post Primary schools Junior A title
2016 Offaly won the Leinster Minor A title fot the 1st time and also won U16A leinster shield title
2017, Offaly’s 2nd adult team won the Leinster Junior title
2017, St. Cillian’s won Division 2 Leinster Club League title
2018, St. Cillian’s won Division 1 Leinster Club League title
2018, St. Rynagh’s won the Leinster Club Intermediate title and narrowly lost the semi final to Galtir.
2019, St. Rynagh’s won the Leinster Club Intermediate title and narrowly lost the All-Ireland Final to Galtir
2019, Kilcormac Killoughey lost the Leinster Club Junior final, marking the 1st time for Offaly to have 2 clubs competing in leinster club championships.
2020 a new club was formed in Edenderry under the One Club Model
2021 new clubs were set up by Belmont GAA and Shamrocks GAA under the One Club Model making it 14 camogie clubs in the county
2021 Offaly were runners up to Meath in the U16B All Ireland Final.
2021 Offaly drew the U18b All Ireland final and lost the replay against Antrim.
2021 St Rynagh’s won the 2020 Leinster club final, making it 3 in a row (delayed due to covid-19)
Jan 2022 St. Rynaghs won the 2020 All Ireland club intermediate final against Galtir. 1.11 to 0.10. Photo credit, Dave Boylan.

2022 St. Rynaghs made it 4 in a row leinster club intermediate titles.
2022 St Rynaghs made it 2 All Ireland titles in a row defeating Salthill-Knocknacarra 5.14 to 2.6. Uniquely winning 2 All irelands in the Spring of 2022. Offaly were subsequently graded up to senior club status.
2022 Offaly won the U18B All-Ireland final defeating Laois 2.10 to 1.12
2022 Offaly won the Leinster U18A shield final against Wexford 1.7 to 0.7
2022 Offaly lost the Leinster U16A shield final against Wexford 2.3 to 0.6
2022 Offaly won the Leinster U14A Shield final against Dublin 4.1 to 1.2
2023 Ballinamere Durrow Camogie Club affiliated for the 1st time, making it 15 clubs in Offay with 4 new clubs in the last 4 years.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s